Reviews from our listing on Homeaway/Holiday rentals (click here to view) and Flipkey/TripAdvisor (view listing)

An idyllic rural retreat

Richard and Chris, Surrey

Left on Flipkey 02/04/2013 for a stay in October 2012

We loved Fraysse Haut so much we stayed for three months! If you’re looking for a get-away-from-it-all retreat in rural France, you really can’t do better than Dan and Sheila’s delightful renovated barn. The accommodation is extremely comfortable and well equipped, from kitchen pots and pans to wi-fi, washing machine and English and French television channels. For chilly nights, there is a terrific log burner with a plentiful supply of wood.

Fraysse Haut is located in idyllic surroundings at the end of a track and right in the middle of a beautiful wooded area, so country walks are literally right there on the doorstep. You can take a stroll through the trees, nearby vineyards and farms or, for more adventurous walkers, there is a network of footpaths you can follow for miles.

By car, there are a variety of places to visit – our favourites include the ancient chateau at Bonaguil and the picturesque villages of Monflanquin, Pujols, Albas and Villefranche-du-Perigord. Parts of the local town of Puy L’Eveque are medieval with old buildings that rise up above a pretty stretch of the River Lot. There’s an excellent boulangerie, a good butcher and several restaurants.

A little further down the road, you’ll find Prayssac, which has a Carrefour supermarket and a not to be missed Friday market selling the best of the region’s fruit, vegetables, cheeses and jams.

Without doubt, Fraysse Haut has everything needed for a relaxing break, which is made perfect by Dan and Sheila. Always friendly and helpful, they are the ideal hosts.

Thank you so much Dan and Sheila for an unforgettable stay!

Anne and Clan from Pirnie, Kelso, SCOTLAND

Rating: 5 out of 5 on Homeaway

Review Submitted: 16 October 2008 Date of Stay: July 2008

For three weeks, three generations took over all three Fraysse Haute properties. As a family, we’ve spent 20+ years “giting” our way round France and this one definitely “ticks all the boxes”. For a start, the accommodation was even better than described and absolutely everything actually worked! Directions given were easy to follow yet the farmhouse was delightfully “remote” set between forest and fields with loads of space for the grandchildren playing.

The area is fantastic for walking and pottering about in the lovely little bastide villages while it is still close enough for the younger members to get to the more “active” centres of the Lot & Dordogne.

Sheila & Dan were welcoming, informative and great company but they were never intrusive. In fact, the whole area of Puy L’Evêque has a friendly feel to it and the nearby vineyards are just a delight to explore. Shops, restaurants and markets can be found within 5 miles of the property.

We opted to “eat in” most of the time because we loved getting the whole tribe around the tables in the courtyard and talking/eating/drinking until long after the stars came out. When in France….

A thouroughly enjoyable holiday, a lovely property and we’ll all – very definitely – be back.

(They did return for another family holiday in summer 2010!)

 

A great location for our two week cycling holiday

Review by Graham E.on Homeaway Rating: 5 out of 5

Review Submitted: 25 September 2011 Date of Stay: September 2011

We had a great holiday in the area staying at Sheila and Dan’s place.The accomodation in the barn was excellent with all the facilities we needed and it was a great base for our cycling which we did most days.The network of very quiet roads around was ideal for us and although there were some good climbs there is also flat cycling in the Lot valley itself always bearing in mind that a descent to the valley inevitably meant a gradual climb back up to Fraysee Haute each day! Given the very hot weather we had for most of the fortnight the shade of the trees was most welcome at times.Although we were on road bikes the short track to the gite was no problem for our skinny-tyred bikes.The location is very tranquil, a real away from it all situation.It is also a great centre for walking as way-marked routes radiate out from the gite.

Shopping was no problem with basics available in Puy L’Eveque or supermarket in Prayssac.Sheila and Dan were there if we needed them for general advice (and providing lovely freshly picked tomatoes)and were most welcoming.

All in all a perfect place to enjoy an outdoors sort of holiday and very relaxing.

(Graham and Margi came again in September 2012.)

Autumn 2007

Reviewed by Katee, Bath on Homeaway Rating: 5 out of 5

Review Submitted: 26 March 2008 Date of Stay: October 2007

Our group of four were immediately made welcome by Sheila and Dan who have painstakingly restored their farmhouse and outbuildings with the addition of Dan’s Pigeonaire to provide extra accommodation. Set in sweet chestnut woods with walking tracks from the door, it is peaceful and yet within easy reach of local amenities. The accommodation is flexible, comfortable and well equipped with everything in immaculate order. A file of tourist information was suppplied but helpful advice on walking and local attractions was always readily available from Sheila. The October weather was warm and sunny and we had a perfect five days walking and exploring many of the towns and villages mentioned in ‘The Three Rivers of France’

Quality time with daughter and friends

Review on Homeaway by peka, Guernsey, Channel Islands Rating: 5 out of 5

Review Submitted: 16 March 2008 Date of Stay: October 2007

In October 2007 my daughter and I were looking for the opportunity to just catch up with one another from our busy schedules. Sheila and Dan the owners of Fraysse Haut, we met some 20 years ago skiing had told us about there dream of building a special home in the Lot area. We decided we wanted to visit their home and see the beautiful scenery and forests and enjoy local French quisine.

Lots of us look for the “Wow factor”, and we were not disapointed, Frasse Haut was a bit of a dream for us, accomodation was second to none, and the hospitality is just one thing to be enjoyed from both Sheila and Dan and the local community.

The forest walks, the river Lot and all the towns nestled along it banks are just very French, a great escape. There are many activities on the river to enjoy if you want more than just walking and site seeing.

We are looking forward to another visit. Lots of happy memories, from Paul & Kay

You Can Go Home Again

Review on Homeaway by Marie/Bruno, mendocino ca usa. Rating: 5 out of 5

Review Submitted: 13 March 2008 Date of Stay: March 2007

We stayed in the “barn” at Fraysse Haut for six weeks in the Spring of 2007 (late March – early May), and for a week in January, 2008. We are over 55, and we were looking for accommodations which would provide a comfortable base, in a quiet rural setting for (1) walking the immediate area, and (2) for auto day trips, or over-nights, through southern France and northern Spain.

The “barn” facility, the landlords, and the surrounding area all met or exceeded our needs and expectations in every way. The facility is newly renovated, appealing visually (“charming” is an overused term, but it truly applies to this unit), clean and property maintained, equipped with modern kitchen and bathroom appliances, and otherwise comfortable furnishings. The landlords reside in an attached unit. They are cordial, and available at need, but they have actual lives and they are not intrusive. The surrounding area is decidedly rural, but only a 6km drive to Puy L’Eveque.

In six weeks of walking, we never ran out of tracks to pursue, we did two over-nights in Spain, and several day trips in every direction. Each time in returning, from walks or driving, we knew we were coming home again. For us, as strangers in a foreign land, that feeling of returning to a place where no language phrasing is misunderstood, where no rules of social conduct are being broken inadvertently, where retained breath finally can be released, was valuable beyond measure. And when we returned in January, ’08, it was as though we had never left. Marie

I would like to add that I found Fraysse Haut on the internet. It looked and sounded like a very special place. I did not anticipate that the reality would match my fantasy. As it turned out, it far exceeded it. From the moment we were greeted by our hosts on arrival and were “introduced” to the barn, where we stayed for the next six weeks, I felt completely at home. I can’t emphasize enough the graciousness with which we were treated. I look forward to our next stay. Bruno

(Marie and Bruno loved it so much that they bought their own holiday home nearby. We meet up whenever they are in France.)

Faites comme chez vous !

A review by Mark & Ruth, London U.K. on Homeaway. Rating: 5 out of 5

Review Submitted: 13 March 2008 Date of Stay: August 2007

A tranquil and well appointed holiday retreat that more than lived up to our expectations . The barn and tower have been fitted and finished with care and devotion to a high standard and provide a bright and fresh ‘home from home’ for relaxing and exploring this part of the Lot.

The owners maintain a welcoming and helpful, yet discreet, presence. Recommended.

Rustic Comfort Off the Beaten Path in the Lot Valley

Review by Eliot, Israel on Homeaway. Rating: 5 out of 5

Review Submitted: 07 March 2008 Date of Stay: September 2007

This is a lovely, modern, well maintained, but rustically appointed apartment just on the outskirts of the Lot Valley. Sheila and Dan are friendly and helpful and have done their best to make our stays pleasant. The barn is absolutely comfortable and charming with all the necessary amenities for a short or long stay. Bright and cheerful and pleasantly furnished, the whole setup is charming; getting there is through a wooded lane. Nearby fields are full of wild orchids in spring; chestnuts in the woods in fall. Easily accessible from this quiet and comfortable haven are scores of gorgeous towns and villages (many medieval bastides) filled with well restored and maintained houses, castles, churches, caves (prehistory and geology), museums (Zadkine is small but great) in the Lot, Lot and Garonne and Perigord regions, really one of the most beautiful corners of France. You live in wooded seclusion amidst lovely views of the Cahors wine growing region (visit the wineries) with its gentle, vineyard covered slopes above the meandering Lot river. Views may be savored through long walks on well set out paths over hill and dale, through forests past streams etc; maps with detailed itineraries available at the local tourist office. Every village has at least one charming restaurant with delicious cuisine. Local open air markets and supermarkets abound with regional provender (wild mushrooms in season), fruit and vegetables if you like to cook.Everything you might expect and need is found in Puy l’Eveque (7 km), Fumel (15 km) and Cahors (30 km). An hour’s ride brings you to the must see Valleys of the Celé, Dordogne and Vezere. Nearby Lascaux, Ruffinac and Les Ezyies (prehistory museum) and Peche Merle (only a few) are meccas for prehistory buffs; Gouffre de Paydirac is a stupendous geological experience. In short this is a really beautiful place which provides a quiet atmosphere for a comfortable, rural based holiday in an absolutely restful atmosphere. You can just lounge around the farm and/or use it as a base for exploring an extremely pretty region. We highly recommend this place. We’ve spent a week in the spring, a month in the fall and we’re about to go back for a month and take our son, his wife and grandchildren.

Our stay with Dan and Sheila

Andy and Sandy, Nottingham England on Homeaway. Rating: 5 out of 5

Review Submitted: 06 March 2008 Date of Stay: September 2007

We will always have very fon memories of our stay with Dan and Sheila in September of 2005. They were both the most perfect hosts and made us feel like old friends. In fact we still remain in contact with Dan and Sheila and fully intend to hold a re match in the not too dustant future.

The accommodation was first class, clean warm and homely with every modern convenience we could wish for.

We found the area wounderful with excellent restaurants and markets. We have recmomended Fraysse Haut to many of our friends. It is one of the few places that we have visited that you could actualy hear the peace and quite. Fraysse Haut is everyones dream of real rural French life. It even had its own resident owl.

Many thanks once again Dan and Sheila for a great stay and happy memories. We hope to see you both very soon.

Andy and Sandy (Nottingham England)

Very Comfortable Stay – Accommodation Met all Our Needs

T & M Chapple, Perth, Western Australia

Left on 12/18/2011 for a stay in October 2011 on Flipkey/Trip Advisor

We had a wonderful week in the Barn at Fraysse Haut in early October 2011. The accommodation was everything we could have wished for and more, and Sheila and Dan were the perfect hosts. The Barn itself was spotless and very well equipped, right down to the pots of herbs available just steps from the front door.

The property is tucked well away from any busy roads, and yet is perfectly positioned as a base for exploring the Lot and lower Dordogne regions by car. And coming back at the end of each day’s sightseeing really did feel like coming ‘home’.

Thanks, Sheila and Dan, for a most enjoyable stay!

Our short but delightful stay at Fraysse Haut

Katie & Chris, Derry Hill, Calne, Wiltshire

Left on 10/19/2011 for a stay in October 2011 on Flipkey/Trip Advisor

We stayed in the Barn at Sheila and Dan’s lovely country retreat. We stayed there originally as it was handy for visiting family nearby but we were so happy to find that it was not only in a beautiful setting but the accommodation was absolutely first class, Sheila and Dan made us feel very welcome and that everything we needed for our stay had been catered for. We very much look forward to visiting family again and hopefully being able to stay at Sheila and Dan’s wonderful gîte again. P.S. Sheila’s home made jam was some of the best we have ever tasted.

Enjoy foreign sun in a friendly atmosphere

Brian and Helen, Aylesbury, United Kingdom

Left on 04/21/2011 for a stay in July 2010 on Flipkey/Trip Advisor

Fraysse Haut is beautifully and conveniently located in the Lot Valley just outside Puy L’Evêque. Sheila and Dan have provided a place of peace and serenity, of colour and variety. There is so much to see in the vicinity of Fraysse Haut itself, deer, owls, bats, and a plethora of wild flowers and trees. It is surrounded by the fabulous countryside typical of this region. Vineyards, small, attractive villages, the Lot itself and friendly locals make it a special place to visit. There are many attractions ranging from the grotto at Peche Merle, the Bastide Villages and local castles and chateaux, the larger towns such as Cahors, the river facilities and the walks. The Friday evening communal meals in the square by the Mayor’s House in Montcabrier with locals selling foods and drinks from stalls and providing tables and benches from the church is just the perfect end to the day.

Above all it is the beautiful sunshine and the quiet and the calm of the meadows that stays in the memory.

We are returning this year to enjoy it all again. Brian and Helen, April 2011

Wonderfully relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings

Jameson/Wright Families, Ferryhill, County Durham

Left on 04/19/2011 for a stay in July 2010 on Flipkey/Trip Advisor

The Fraysse Haut is an amazing holiday home converted from scratch by Dan & Sheila. It is in a quiet and peaceful location surrounded by their own open fields and woodland.

It is a ideal location if you are looking for a base from which to explore genuine rural France and is within easy reach of many attractions such as canoeing, walking, horse riding or visiting many of the local historic towns & villages. The Fraysse Haut is also perfect if you would rather just spends time sunbathing and reading a book with a good glass of wine which can be bought from the local vineyard.

Dan & Sheila are the perfect owners as they are very sociable and helpful but also discreet and non-intrusive.

The beauty of the Fraysse Haut is its ability to cater for small or large family groups. I and my family have visited twice, on the first occasion used all of the accommodation and on the second visit used just the tower and barn. On both occasions we were very comfortable, totally chilled and enjoyed the fact that we could all retire to our own section and did not feel ‘under each others feet’.

We all love this holiday home and will definitely be returning soon!

I would recommend the Fraysse Haut to anyone and everyone – enjoy!

Follow us: